

Extraordinary Woollahra Local Traffic Committee

Friday 26 July 2024 11.00am

Minutes

Extraordinary Woollahra Local Traffic Committee Minutes

Friday 26 July 2024

Table of Contents

| Item | Subject | Pages |
|----------|--|--------|
| 1. | Opening | |
| 2. | Acknowledgement of Country (Gadigal People and Birrabirragal People) | |
| 3. | Leave of Absence and Apologies | |
| 4. | Late Correspondence | |
| Items to | be Recommended to the Finance, Community and Services Committee Woollahra Local Traffic Committee for Consideration | by the |
| Item | Subject | Pages |
| Y1 | Watsons Bay Permit Parking Trial Review | 3 |

Extraordinary Woollahra Local Traffic Committee Minutes

The Extraordinary meeting of the Woollahra Local Traffic Committee was held using video conferencing technology via Microsoft Teams on 26 July 2024 at 11.00am.

Attendance

Committee Members:

Present: Emilio Andari (Woollahra Municipal Council) (Chair)

Van Le (Transport for NSW)
Taskira Islam (Transport for NSW)
Sgt Anthony Leeson (Eastern Suburbs Police)

Staff: Tom O'Hanlon (Woollahra Municipal Council)

Ever Fang (Woollahra Municipal Council) Coen O'Shannessy (Woollahra Municipal Council)

Also in

Attendance: Cr Mary-Lou Jarvis (Councillor – Y1)

Cr Merrill Witt (Councillor – Y1)
Andrew Maloney (Resident – Y1)
Justin Hind (Resident – Y1)

Note:

In accordance with Council's Code of Meeting Practice, this meeting was recorded from 11:10am. A resident made representations before recording commenced however, the resident re-addressed the committee for all correspondence to be captured by the recording.

1. Opening

The Manager of Engineering Services declared the Extraordinary Woollahra Local Traffic Committee of 26 July 2024 open and welcomed Committee Members.

2. Acknowledgement of Country (Gadigal People and Birrabirragal People)

The Manager Engineering Services read the following Acknowledgement of Country:

I would like to acknowledge that we are here today on the land of the Gadigal and Birrabirragal people, the traditional custodians of the land. On behalf of Woollahra Council, I acknowledge Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander people attending today and I pay my respects to Elders past, present and emerging.

3. Leave of Absence and Apologies

Apologies: Alex Greenwich MP (Member for Sydney) Kellie Sloane MP (Member for Vaucluse)

4. Late Correspondence

Nil.

Items to be Recommended to the Finance, Community and Services Committee by the Woollahra Local Traffic Committee for Consideration

Item No: Y1

Subject: WATSONS BAY PERMIT PARKING TRIAL REVIEW

Author: Ever Fang, Traffic & Transport Team Leader **Approver:** Emilio Andari, Manager Engineering Services

File No: 24/122621

Purpose of theTo review the trial permit parking scheme

Report:

Alignment to Strategy 6.2: Management of public parking on-street and off-street.

Delivery Program: Recommendation:

THAT all existing 'P15minute Permit Holders Excepted Area WB1' restrictions in Watsons Bay, be replaced with '1P Permit Holders Excepted Area WB1' restrictions, in order to comply with the published TfNSW Permit Parking Guidelines 2024, and to maintain a balance with preferential treatment for residents and equitable parking for other motorists.

Note: Mr Andrew Maloney implored special consideration in implementing permit parking scheme in Watsons Bay given the uniqueness of this area and the road geometry in the peninsular. Concerns were raised on congestion, safety and access of emergency services as a result of the proposal.

Note: Mr Justin Hind did not object to the proposal however complained about cars illegally parked across his driveway and requested that any future permit parking scheme to be extended to the entire length of Gap Road to improve access to his residence.

Note: Cr Mary-Lou Jarvis raised strong concerns that the latest Permit Parking Guidelines does not allow flexibility for Council to provide local solutions to particular problems. Cr Jarvis requested the Committee to consider a more pragmatic approach, noting higher occupancy of permit parking spaces was observed during the trial period and indicated a more equitable use of these spaces.

Note: Cr Merrill Witt echoed the comments and concerns raised by local residents and Cr Jarvis, particularly regarding pedestrian safety and emergency access, and pointed out that Watsons Bay would be more densely populated in near future that would further increase traffic and parking pressure. Cr Witt also recommended to work with NPWS and explore more parking restrictions to alleviate parking pressure in this area.

Note: Mr Van Le from TfNSW responded to Cr Jarvis and Cr Witt's enquiries in relation to the development and approval process of the Guidelines. Mr Le confirmed that the Guidelines was developed internally by TfNSW and does not require approval from the Minister, however noting the Minister was informed throughout the process.

Note: Mr Van Le noted that TfNSW had taken in account feedback from all Councils during consultation period to form the decision to amend the Guidelines which applies to all areas in NSW to ensure reasonable access to the public roads for all road users. Mr Le stated that TfNSW is happy to work with Council and NSW Police to come up with strategies in line with the Guidelines to achieve a balance for local residents and visitors whilst maintaining emergency access to this area.

Page 3

| Extraordinary Woollahra Local Traffic Committee Mi | nutes |
|--|-------|
| | |

Secretary of Committee

| Woollahra Municipal Council | | Extraordinary Woollahra Local Traffic Committee Minutes | | | |
|-----------------------------|--|---|--|--|--|
| Note: | Mr Tom O'Hanlon, as Woollahra Council's Director of Infrastructure and Sustainability, noted the Minutes of this meeting would be referred to Council's Finance, Community an Services' Committee meeting for review. Further comments and questions from Council would then be passed onto TfNSW to consider and respond. | | | | |
| Comm | ittee Vote: Unanimous Suppo | ort | | | |
| There I | being no further business the r | meeting concluded at 11.54am. | | | |
| We | | ered 1 to 4 inclusive are the Minutes of the Extraordinary Committee Meeting held on Friday 26 July 2024. | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | | | | |

Chairperson

Page 4